12 Ensemble x Keaton Henson

Part of Purcell Sessions

This event has been cancelled as we are currently closed due to the coronavirus crisis.

Composer Keaton Henson presents an evening of works, including reworks of Six Lethargies, the musician’s most involved project to date.

Drawing on emotion, deep thought and intricate work, Six Lethargies is the culmination of over three years of work from the musician, artist and composer.

Composed around, and from within, the issues of mental illness and human emotion, the piece aims to express and explain the feelings of anxiety and depression through six connected movements for string orchestra.

In writing the piece, Henson met with neuroscientists, music theorists and biofeedback specialists to ask the simple question: ‘If I write how it feels to me, will it make you feel the same?’

As a performer known for his inability to perform live, Six Lethargies is Henson's way of handing his story over to the orchestra, allowing them to be his voice, and explain the very reason for his absence.

Join us for an evening of human connection, empathetic insight, and music doing what it does best: making us feel something.

The 12-piece ensemble is an un-conducted string ensemble. The pioneering group is rapidly developing a reputation as one of the UK’s leading chamber orchestras.

Based on a core group of 12 players, it combines the energy and creativity of a small ensemble with the breathtaking sound of a string orchestra.

Dates & times

Approximate run time: 90 mins
Run times may vary, find out more
    • Thu 5 November 2020
      • 7:45 pm
    • Fri 6 November 2020
      • 7:45 pm


Purcell Room


Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Southbank Centre takes a strong view on secondary ticketing. We require the lead booker to attend (photo ID may be requested). Tickets can only be resold by Southbank Centre or one of its authorised agents.