classical music

Southbank Sinfonia: Knoxville, Summer of 1915

Part of Classical Season 2020/21

This event is cancelled as we are currently closed due to the coronavirus crisis.

Conductor Sian Edwards leads the high-energy musicians of Southbank Sinfonia in 20th-century masterpieces.

They perform Samuel Barber's evocative and nostalgic depiction of early 20th-century Tennessee, paired with the nervous energy of Stravinsky's Symphony in C.

Though outwardly one of the composer’s most 'traditional' pieces, it is full of quirk and surprise.

Zesty harmonies and unpredictable rhythms keep orchestra and audience on their toes.

The concert opens with Thea Musgrave's Green, a verdant work that brings to life a youthful clash of wills.

A new work from composer and singer Yfat Soul Zisso, called 'curiously original' by Wales Online, completes the programme.


Southbank Sinfonia
Sian Edwards conductor
Chloe Morgan soprano


Programme includes: -
Thea Musgrave: Green for string orchestra
Yfat Soul Zisso: New work (World premiere)
Barber: Knoxville: Summer of 1915, Op.24
Stravinsky: Symphony in C

Dates & times

Approximate run time: 120 mins
Run times may vary, find out more
    • Sun 4 October 2020
      • 7:30 pm


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£11 - £33
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£11, £15, £23, £33


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Southbank Centre takes a strong view on secondary ticketing. We require the lead booker to attend (photo ID may be requested). Tickets can only be resold by Southbank Centre or one of its authorised agents.