classical music

Covent Garden Sinfonia: Mahler Symphony No.9

Part of Classical Season 2019/20

A rare chance to hear Mahler’s poignant Ninth Symphony in an intimate version for chamber orchestra by master arranger Iain Farrington.

Mahler completed his Ninth in 1909, but didn’t live to hear its first performance in 1912, given by Bruno Walter and the Vienna Philharmonic.

This pared-down version brings Mahler’s chamber-like writing a new sense of intimacy and clarity, bringing it closer to the world of Berg, Webern and Schoenberg, without compromising on the grandiose moments, or the sarcastic bite of the third movement Rondo-Burleske.

Farrington consciously avoids recreating the instrumentation of the Mahler arrangements made for Schoenberg’s Society for Private Musical Performances in Vienna between 1918 and 1921.

Instead, he aims to create a full orchestral picture from a chamber orchestra, using only the instruments found in the original score.

Under the direction of Founder and Artistic Director Ben Palmer since 2007, Covent Garden Sinfonia is firmly established as one of London’s most versatile and dynamic chamber orchestras. This event marks the opening of CGS’s 2019/20 season.


Covent Garden Sinfonia
Ben Palmer conductor


Mahler: Symphony No.9 arr. Iain Farrington for chamber orchestra

Dates & times

22 Sep 2019
Approximate run time: 90 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Purcell Room


£15 - £20
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£15, £20


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy