classical music

Fanny and Felix Mendelssohn

Part of Classical Season 2020/21

Music by the 19th-century sibling composers is showcased by four soloists, the London Mozart Players and Crouch End Festival Chorus.

Felix Mendelssohn was one of the 19th century’s greatest composers. So was his sister, Fanny, but while some of her pieces were published under Felix’s name, she was not encouraged to professionalise her talents.

In this concert, Felix is represented by Die erste Walpurgisnacht (The First Walpurgis Night), a dramatic setting of Goethe’s poem about a conflict between pagans and Christians.

Fanny Mendelssohn is represented by her only known orchestral work, the Overture in C, and her powerful Hiob (Job) Cantata.

Felix’s shorter works – Psalm 42 and Christmas cantata Vom Himmel hoch (From Heaven on High) are rarely heard gems.


London Mozart Players
David Temple conductor
Julia Doyle soprano
Rebecca Afonwy-Jones mezzo-soprano
Ronald Samm tenor
James Platt bass
Crouch End Festival Chorus


Mendelssohn: Vom Himmel hoch (From the sky above)
Fanny Mendelssohn: Overture in C
Mendelssohn: Psalm 42, Wie der Hirsch schreit (As pants the Hart)
Fanny Mendelssohn: Cantata, Hiob (Job)
Mendelssohn: Die erste Walpurgisnacht, Op.60

Dates & times

30 Jan 2021
Approximate run time: 130 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£10 - £28
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£10, £18, £24, £28


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Southbank Centre takes a strong view on secondary ticketing. We require the lead booker to attend (photo ID may be requested). Tickets can only be resold by Southbank Centre or one of its authorised agents.