classical music
contemporary classical

Kareem Roustom’s Shades of Night

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Chilingirian Quartet presents the European premiere of Syrian-born Kareem Roustom’s new string quartet Shades of Night.

The concert also features Thea Musgrave’s 1958 String Quartet and Tchaikovsky’s String Quartet No.1, Op.11.

Kareem Roustom is an Emmy-nominated composer, whose genre-crossing collaborations include music commissioned for the Kronos Quartet and Daniel Barenboim.

Roustom’s music has been performed by the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, the Philadelphia Orchestra and the Minnesota Orchestra, at renowned festivals and concert halls including the BBC Proms, the Salzburg Festival and Carnegie Hall.


Chilingirian String Quartet


Thea Musgrave: String Quartet
Kareem Roustom: String Quartet (Shades of Night) (European premiere)
Tchaikovsky: String Quartet No.1 in D, Op.11

Dates & times

8 May 2019
Approximate run time: 105 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Purcell Room


£10 - £30
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£10, £20, £30


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy