classical music
contemporary classical

Elfman Classical

Part of Classical Season 2019/20

Danny Elfman's Violin Concerto receives its first London performance by the BBC Concert Orchestra and soloist Sandy Cameron.

Elfman’s Shostakovich-inspired concerto is paired with Prokofiev’s dramatic music for the film Alexander Nevsky, with its climactic passage, ‘the Battle on the Ice’.


BBC Concert Orchestra
Bramwell Tovey conductor
Sandy Cameron violin
Crouch End Festival Chorus


Shostakovich: Festive Overture
Danny Elfman: Ice Dance from Edward Scissorhands; Concerto for violin & orchestra (Eleven Eleven) (London premiere)
Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky, cantata, Op.78

Dates & times

21 Apr 2020
Approximate run time: 125 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Royal Festival Hall


£12 - £40
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£12, £18, £24, £32, £40


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy