classical music
contemporary classical

Bang On!

Part of Classical Season 2019/20

Bang on a Can All-Stars join the BBC Concert Orchestra and Principal Conductor Bramwell Tovey for the UK premiere of Flower Power, a new work from Pulitzer prize-winning American composer Julia Wolfe.

In her new work, Wolfe draws on the energy generated by a radical revolutionary moment – the late 1960s – a time when experimental ideas and questions permeated all parts of the political, social and artistic landscapes.

This shift brought new spiritual and intellectual explorations, a breakdown of social norms, psychedelic visions, artistic explosion, and a greater and more open expression of love and peace.

The programme also includes English and American minimalism in orchestral form by Steve Martland, John Adams and Philip Glass.


BBC Concert Orchestra
Bramwell Tovey conductor
Bang On A Can All-Stars


John Adams: The Chairman Dances (Foxtrot for orchestra)
Julia Wolfe: Flower Power (UK premiere)
Martland: Horses of instruction
Philip Glass: Symphony No.3 for string orchestra

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£12 - £28
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£12, £18, £28


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy