classical music

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Schubert & Mendelssohn

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

A treat for string quartet fans: Schubert’s Quartettsatz and Mendelssohn’s String Quartet Op.80, composed as a requiem for his beloved sister Fanny.

The one surviving movement of an unfinished string quartet, Schubert’s Quartettsatz burns with a fiery passion – the music perfectly blends carefree violin motifs with moments of powerful drama from the entire ensemble. With his matchless ear for melody, enjoy as Schubert explores the entire expressive range of the instruments.

Mendelssohn’s String Quartet No.6 in F minor, Op.80 evokes a far more personal tragedy, commemorating the death of his sister Fanny – the composer himself died two months after completing the work. Growing out of a stormy opening movement, the music never finds peace: even the slower third movement is filled with yearning and loss, and the finale returns to the nervous anguish of the beginning.

This concert is part of the Philharmonia Chamber Players series.


Rebecca Chan violin
Eugene Lee violin
Richard Waters viola
Ella Rundle cello


Schubert: String Quartet in C minor, D.703 (Quartettsatz)
Mendelssohn: String Quartet No.6 in F minor, Op.80

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall



need to know

Event information
Hear the full Orchestra in a programme mirroring the chamber performance in the evening performance at 7.30pm – Schubert wrote his Unfinished Symphony at the same time as his Quartettsatz, while Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto showcases the composer’s lyricism at a far happier time of his life. To close, a Brahms masterpiece: his Third Symphony.
Find out more