classical music
contemporary classical

LPO Debut Sounds: Terra Firma

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Debut Sounds is an annual platform which presents new works from the LPO Young Composers.

This year, the composers have worked with mentor James MacMillan to create music inspired by the form of cantus firmus. These works are interspersed with choral and instrumental works from the Renaissance to modern day from Byrd and Górecki to Judith Weir and James MacMillan.

James MacMillan conducts an ensemble of musicians from the LPO's Foyle Future Firsts Development Programme, alongside LPO players and vocal ensemble Echo.

The Young Composer's compositions are accompanied by video programme notes.


London Philharmonic Orchestra Foyle Future Firsts
Members of the London Philharmonic Orchestra
James MacMillan conductor
Sarah Latto choir director


James MacMillan: They saw the stone had been rolled away for brass & percussion
Byrd: Lullaby, my sweet little baby
Clare Elton: Till time shall cease
Antonio Lotti: Crucifixus a 8
Barnaby Martin: Corpus
Górecki: Ni piej, kurku, nie piej (Don't crow, cock, don't crow), Op.49 No.3
Ashley John Long: Lunea
James MacMillan: Ein Lämplein verlosch for string quartet
Grzegorz Gerwazy Gorczycki: Agnus Dei from Missa Paschalis
Andrzej Karalow: Veins
Judith Weir: Ave Maria Caelorum
Carlijn Metselaar: Time for your walk

Dates & times

1 Jul 2019
Approximate run time: 120 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Queen Elizabeth Hall


Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)


Find out more about our Concessions policy