classical music
contemporary classical

Music of Today: Wu Wei Artist Portrait

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Encounter an ancient Chinese instrument in new musical contexts in this concert for sheng and orchestral ensemble.

Virtuoso Wu Wei has made the sheng – an ancient Chinese wind instrument – an innovative force in contemporary music, crossing traditional genre boundaries.

In this Music of Today performance in Queen Elizabeth Hall, he performs three contrasting works for sheng and orchestral ensemble with the Philharmonia.

Finnish composer Jukka Tiensuu's Hehkuu exploits the birdlike sounds of the sheng to create an atmospheric sound-world.

Guoping Jia's The Wind Sounds in the Sky fuses traditional Chinese music with elements of Western classical composition.

The programme culminates with a new piece for sheng and ensemble by Czech composer Ondrej Adámek, whose music was described by Ivan Hewett in The Telegraph as ‘sharp, brilliant’.

Adámek's highly theatrical music and innovative musical language create an entirely new framework for sheng and orchestral ensemble.


Players from the Philharmonia Orchestra
Jonathan Stockhammer conductor
Wu Wei sheng


Jukka Tiensuu: Hehkuu for sheng & ensemble (UK premiere)
Guoping Jia: The wind sounds in the sky for sheng, cello & percussion
Ondřej Adámek: Lost prayer book for sheng & ensemble (UK premiere)

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£8 - £14
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)

Multi-buy discount

£8, £14

Multi-buy discount
Book multiple Philharmonia Orchestra events in the same transaction and receive a discount: 3 – 5 events (10% discount); 6 – 8 events (15% discount); 9 – 11 events (20% discount); 12 – 14 events (25% discount); 15 or more events (30% discount). Events must be in the 2018/19 season. This discount is not available on Premium seats.


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy