classical music

Bach: Toutes Suites

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Order and moderation versus rebellion and pleasure. In between these battling forces lies that elusive ideal we call happiness.

Bach achieved a balance of pleasures with his set of Orchestral Suites.

After years in the service of various church employers, he let loose with a bit of Gallic flair, trying his hand at writing in various styles of French dance music.

In each Orchestral Suite, Bach brings his usual mathematical precision to the gigues, gavottes and minuets that were the popular music of his day.

Enjoy this collection – less well-known than the Brandenburgs but just as fascinating – in its entirely, with the OAE.


Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Margaret Faultless director
Lisa Beznosiuk flute


JS Bach: Orchestral Suite No.3 in D; Orchestral Suite No.1 in C
JS Bach: Orchestral Suite No.2 in B minor; Orchestral Suite No.4 in D

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£10 - £75
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)

Multi-buy discount

£10, £25, £45, £75

Multi-buy discount
Book multiple Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment events in the same transaction and receive a discount: 2 – 3 events (15% discount); 4 – 7 events (20% discount); 8 or more events (25% discount). Events must be in the 2018/19 season. This discount is not available on Premium seats.


25% (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Book multiple Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment events in the same transaction and receive a discount.
2 – 3 events (15% discount)
4 – 7 events (20% discount)
8 or more events (25% discount)

Book an Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment event for a group of ten people or more and receive a 20% discount.

Under-35s receive a 50% discount. Please bring identification for proof of age.

Children and student £5 tickets are available for every concert.

These discounts, and the £5 tickets, are not available on top-price seats.

Related events
Queen Elizabeth Hall foyer at 6pm: Crispin Woodhead, Chief Executive of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, gives an introduction to Bach’s Orchestral Suites. Admission free.