classical music
classical music

Symphonic Masters

Part of Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

From one inescapable melody to another, legendary violinist Pinchas Zukerman is both conductor and soloist in a concert brimming with infectious melodies.

Opening with a true English masterpiece, Vaughan Williams’ Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis is a visionary fusion of folksong and sacred music.

This is followed by Mozart’s dramatic Fifth Violin Concerto; often referred to as the 'Turkish', the wild, frenzied Allegro in the final movement emulates a Turkish style with melodic leaps, pounding rhythms and percussive strings.

Closing the concert is one of the most instantly recognisable pieces of classical music; Beethoven’s Symphony No.5. Opening with four imposing notes, this Fate Motif that dominates the symphony epitomises all that was brilliant about the classical era and still dominates concert halls today.


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Pinchas Zukerman conductor, violin


Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis
Mozart: Violin Concerto No.5 in A, K.219
Beethoven: Symphony No.5

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£10 - £50
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)

Multi-buy discount

£10, £20, £30, £40, £50

Multi-buy discount
Book multiple Royal Philharmonic Orchestra events in the same transaction and receive a discount: 2 – 3 events (15% discount); 4 or more events (25% discount). Events must be in the 2018/19 season.


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know


Book multiple Royal Philharmonic Orchestra events in the same transaction and receive a discount.

2 – 3 events (15% discount)
4 or more events (25% discount)

This discount only applies to multiple concerts bought in the same series, not across two or more series.